These testimonials are from past clients. If you want an honest opinion, some people are allowing us to pass on their contact info to you upon request.

When our cockatiel, Rizzo, passed away, we were devastated. I contacted Resting Paws by email and Sabine replied back within an hour. She was very kind, compassionate and sensitive to what we were going through. We met with her and Patrick and knew right away Rizzo was in good hands and our final wishes for her would be carried out. I highly recommend using their services, they truly care about your cherished pet.

Laurie McTaggart October 12, 2017 / Rockland October 12, 2017

We contacted Resting Paws in late July of this year. Patrick was very helpful and easy to talk to regarding our needs. We found him very accessible and spent a lot of time with us at the cemetery which meant so much. It helped us understand that our companion was being cared for as much as possible. We would highly recommend contacting Patrick for any questions regarding the amazing and thoughtful service he provides at such an extremely difficult time.

Natasha Norman September 19, 2017 / Kanata September 20, 2017

I wish to thank you for the professional and compassionate way in which you handled the arrangements for our cat Whiskers. The plaque is lovely as well. I would recommend your service to anyone.

Thank you, Bill & Shirl.

William Jahn August 20, 2017 / Nepean August 21, 2017

Found out while on vacation out of country that our 13 yr. old collie had passed away while in a relative's care. Upon our return we searched and found Resting Paws on the internet. Sabine answered all our questions in a compassionate and patient manner and Patrick picked up our old puppy soon after from the sitters residence which is in Ottawa but 100 km from us. A really difficult time was made more bearable by their much needed services. My wife and I later attended the scattering of ashes at their well kept facility and grounds. Very happy with their services and thankful that they persevered in overcoming the obstacles to establish Resting Paws. They are not just in it for money, obviously.

Brian Murphy July 24, 2017 / Westport July 25, 2017

We had a great service from Resting Paws.. The owners are very welcoming and they answered all our questions and helped us with the process.. Thank you Resting Paws..

Baher Omar July 17, 2017 / Ottawa July 17, 2017

So comforting to know my Petey was with people that actually cared. Wonderful service in a depressing time. Thank you!

Rachel Desjardins July 8, 2017 / Ottawa July 8, 2017

Our family works in the human funeral services; we found the extremely compassionate and caring services of Resting Paws to be professional and essential when we had to make the difficult decision to let our beloved Luna go.

Tyler S. July 6, 2017 / Gatineau July 6, 2017

When we lost our cat Mozer, I didn't know what to do. He had passed away at home at night and it was not something we had expected or planned for. Our pet sitter recommended Resting Paws, and that is when I met Sabine. She arrived with a basket, and options for us, but most importantly she was so caring and empathetic. I was immediately comfortable with her, and I knew she would take care of Mozer. From the first moment right up until the day we scattered his ashes, Sabine at Resting Paws was beyond amazing. Whether it be a change of requests for the arrangements, or the questions I asked, or emotional support It was obvious to me that they cared about my Mozer and my family. We have other pets in our home and as long as Resting Paws is in business we will use their services.

Thank you for everything you have done for us!

Laura Whitworth July, 6, 2017 / Ottawa July 6, 2017

We have lost four of our fur angels in the last couple of years. Each time we have entrusted them to the care of Resting Paws. At a very sad and stressful time, they have provided fast, courteous, and compassionate servicer, for which we are entirely grateful. We hope we won't need to use them in the near future, but when the time comes, we will know whom to call, without any hesitation. We unconditionally recommend Resting Paws.

Lea Usin June 28, 2017 / Ottawa June 28, 2017

Patrick and Sabine have created a wonderful place where you can say goodbye to your pet knowing they will rest in a meadow surrounded by trees and the beauty of nature. I chose cremation for my cats and Patrick performed his duties with great professionalism and integrity, while showing me lots of warmth and understanding for my sadness. His genuine compassion made it a little bit easier to go through the process of saying goodbye to my pets who were with me for over 16 years. I never met with Sabine, only talked to her over the phone when another cat of mine died a year ago. Again, I could distinctly feel the empathy for me while I was making arrangements for the cremation. With all my cats I wanted to be with them until the end. I appreciate the fact that it is possible to do so at Resting Paws. I never felt I was “in the way”. When business is run as honestly as this one, transparency is possible. Thank you to Sabine and Patrick for the wonderful and needed service. Beata Kotowicz with my cats Mopsia, Szaruś and Tygryś

Beata Kotowicz June 8, 2017 / Gatineau June 8, 2017

Patrick and Sabine will kindly help you make your final arrangements for your beloved pet. We lost Sushi and Noodles in February and April and they helped us make the arrangements for cremations according to our wishes. I was very happy to have a local option in order to be present to say goodbye.

Benjamin Lister May 31, 2017 / Nepean May 31, 2017

Thank you soo much to Patrick and Sabine for all the wonderful service. My little cat Leila passed away and I really didn't know how to take care of everything since this is the first time I've had to deal with the loss of a pet. Patrick and Sabine were very helpful and very informative on how the cremation works, they took care of my baby and delivered the urn to me when it was ready. I will be definitely recommending this place to my family and friends and will be using their services again in the future. Thank you Patrick and Sabine for everything you've done for us.

Jeffrey Dorego May 4, 2017 / Ottawa May 4, 2017

Very good service, provided by kind, professional people. They made a difficult time a little easier.

Noam Rabinovitch April 13, 2017 / Ottawa April 14, 2017

Caring, compassion and professionalism come to mind when we think of the services you provided for us and for Sasha. Not many businesses would come to your home at 10pm. Thanks for making a difficult time a little easier.

Michael and Hai Xia

Michael McCulloch April 12, 2017 / Ottawa April 13, 2017

Dear Patrick and Sabine,

many thanks for your professionalism and compassion in handling the cremation of our long-time pet cat "Baby". We really appreciated being able to witness her cremation at your facility in Patrick's caring hands. Also, having your own pet dogs at the crematorium was a very nice touch and really helped cheer up our daughter during such a difficult time for her.

Sincerely, Tom & Patricia Feehan

Tom and Patricia Feehan March 23, 2017 / Orleans March 25, 2017

The testimonials here are all so true. I had to put down my dear old cat Storm in October 2016. It was very difficult. From making arrangements for cremation with Sabine on the phone to meeting Patrick at their Resting Paws facility, I was treated with kindness, compassion and respect and I thank them both. We are lucky to have them in our area.

Barb Thibodeau January 2, 2017 / Vars January 3, 2017

Sunday November 27, 2016 was the saddest day for me. My little Maltese, Sparkles had to be put to sleep due to his suffering from kidney failure. He was just shy of 10 years old. It was fate that made my path cross with Patrick & Sabine's and I will be forever thankful. Meeting them and getting to know them convinced me that they would take care of my little one when his time came and that is exactly how it was. They comforted me and I felt I was able to let go, knowing Sparkles would be treated with the same care and dignity that I would have treated him with. Sparkles is back home now in his comfy basket where he spent many hours either curled up dreaming or stretched out on his back just chilling. I cannot express the gratitude I have towards Patrick & Sabine, not only for their kindness and excellent, professional service but also for recommending Dr. Carmen who came to our home and helped Sparkles move on.

Beverley Kinman December 5, 2016 / Ottawa December 6, 2016

I cannot thank Patrick and Sabine enough for their wonderful and personalised service. Our dearest cat Cartman passed away last Sunday at 19 years of age, and I had done some research online so I knew who to call when it inevitably happened. My husband phoned before we went in to the vet to arrange for Cartman to be picked up, and they went to get him the next morning. We opted to have the private cremation with the visitation and I was very happy with the service provided. Patrick was so kind and professional. He answered any questions we had and made us all feel very comfortable there. He treated our companion with compassion and the dignity that we needed to begin the healing process. We were provided with a lot of information on grieving and the urn we got for Cartman is absolutely beautiful and perfect. Patrick makes them himself. I am so glad to have this service offered close to home. Cartman is now back with us where he belongs. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts. ~The Browns

Andrea McGinnis-Brown December 1, 2016 / Ottawa December 2, 2016

Thanks to both of you, Patrick and Sabine, for the care and consideration you've shown us as we've said good-bye to our little (and not-so-little!) furry companions. The hugs are especially appreciated. 🙂

Mary McNeill November 24, 2016 / West Carleton November 25, 2016

My long time friend Lexie passed away this month. Lexie was with me constantly, she was a therapy dog at Unitarian House of Ottawa and will be missed by many seniors. Making that final decision for a friend is difficult but I was lucky to have Sabine and Patrick's support. Resting Paws does not just provide a service to people they provide loving support and kindness. Lexie's ashes are now buried in her favourite garden at the cottage.

Christina O'Neil November 23, 2016 / Ottawa November 23, 2016

Resting Paws provided exactly what I needed and more when my beloved cat died. With immediate understanding and great compassion during this upsetting time, Sabina took over the necessary arrangements and followed through until I had the precious urn with me. The mementos are lovely; a paw print and very tasteful urn for the ashes. I unequivocally recommend Resting Paws.

Ilze Caunitis October 25, 2016 / Nepean October 26, 2016

In July of 2016, we lost our beloved dog, Théo, to prostate cancer. This was an extremely difficult time for us as he was only 9 years old and he rapidly declined after his diagnosis. It was a comfort to be able to be present at his cremation. Patrick and Sabine offered us the opportunity to say goodbye in a tasteful, friendly environment where we could ask questions and get answers about the whole process. Theo's remains are now in our home in a beautifully engraved urn. We appreciate our lovely marble urn with Theo's likeness every day when we are in our living room. The pick-up of his body went smoothly and Patrick has an easy going manner that reduces the stress of the entire procedure that accompanies death. From the moment we called Resting Paws to the moment we received his ashes everything went smoothly and we felt that the body of our friend was treated respectfully. We are very pleased with the service that we received and highly recommend them. J and M

J & M October 16, 2016 / Ottawa October 16, 2016 / Ottawa October 16, 2016

Thank you so much for your kindness. Your attention to detail and empathy made a difficult period as easy as it could have been. Saying goodbye to Bandit, our ferret, was hard, but we felt we couldn't have left her memorial in better hands. We are so grateful.

Jessica Paquet September 30, 2016 / Ottawa September 30, 2016

Well, I moved out of my parents' basement with him, he watched the early years of my child develop, he was right by my side for a good part of my life. I am so thankful that there was a service such as Resting Paws to help me say the proper goodbye to my beloved Charlie. I couldn't have asked for any more from Resting Paws to make an extremely difficult time as good as it could have been.

JM September 30, 2016 / Ottawa September 30, 2016

I think all these reviews here speak for themselves.

Being a local firm, the experience was much more personal.

Daisy was a very special girl to me. I got her from the Ottawa human society in March 2002. She was 6 months old at the time. I have been so blessed to have had her for 14.5 years of her 15yr life. We’ve had some good times, some bad times and some sad times but putting it all together made it a wonderful time. Throughout her life she made lots of people friends, lots of doggie friends and even a few feline friends. Daisy was a happy dog and deserved the very best right to the end. On Wednesday, September 21, 2016, this made it even more difficult because it was her 15th birthday, Daisy decided to go meet her friends in doggie heaven. I cannot think of a better way for my Daisy to celebrate her journey over the Rainbow Bridge than with the help of Patrick & Sabine of Resting Paws Cemetery & Crematorium Inc. who have treated Daisy with the outmost respect and dignity she deserves. Even Roxy and Diego played a big part in making this difficult time a bit less difficult for me. I would recommend Resting Paws Cemetery & Crematorium Inc. to anyone who is going through these difficult times. R.I.P. Daisy 2001 – 2016 xoxo

Jean-Yves Lepage September 29, 2016 / Ottawa September 29, 2016

Patrick and Sabine are such nice people with kindly patience. We are pleasure to know them so we could have a memorable goodbye ceremony to our old friend Jack.

Nan Zhang September 25, 2016 / Orleans September 26, 2016

Resting Paws made a difficult situation more bearable thanks to their professionalism and their compassion. Every request was completed to our complete satisfaction. I highly recommend their service.

Lewis and Dora MacKenzie September 23, 2016 / Almonte September 24, 2016

I lost my dog, Mr. Pepys, unexpectedly at home on Sunday. I had no idea what to do, so I searched the net and came across Resting Paws. I am so glad I did - I called on Sunday evening and they responded right away. Patrick came early on Monday with Roxy and Diego to pick Mr. Pepys up and he was cremated this morning (Wednesday). Patrick and Sabine were so kind, efficient and understanding that it made a very traumatic experience so much more bearable. Thank you so much!

Glynis Ellens September 14, 2016 / Ottawa September 15, 2016

Patrick was so very kind and helpful when I called last week to have our dear kitty Westley cremated. His passing was a shock to us and we were so very upset. Patrick helped us right away and his support and guidance during this difficult time will not be forgotten. We will definitely recommend Sabine and Patrick's services at Resting Paws to our friends. Thank you both so much for helping us through this sad time.

Delia Coates September 12, 2016 / Woodlawn September 12, 2016

Two of the most caring people I have met. Losing a pet who is considered part of the family is a difficult thing to endure. Thank you for your wonderful compassion, support and providing such a great service at the end of their lives.

Jennifer Pigeon September 6, 2016 / Ottawa September 7, 2016

I am so ever grateful for Resting paws for their kindness and empathy they showed me and my family, from the first phone call I made Sabrina talked me through that terrible day when I had to take that decision to put my dog Buddy down. Patrick meet up with us over at the vets. office he supported us through these hard times I couldn't have done it without his support..He brought my dog Buddy back to Resting Paws to have him buried the next day. Patrick brings his two beautiful dogs along for therapy even as your grieving for your own loss you find comfort in them. I miss my Buddy deeply but I know that I can go anytime To Resting Paws and spend my quiet moments with him. Thumbs up for Resting Paws. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Karen Hannah August 10, 2016 / Ottawa August 10, 2016

We used Resting Paws' storage service until we could bring our Rosie dog up north to bury her on family property. Throughout our experience Sabine and Patrick were accommodating and professional - kind and compassionate. We highly recommend Sabine and Patrick’s services.

Katherine Ivey August 8, 2016 / Ottawa August 9, 2016

On July 13, 2016 we lost our 14 year old pug, Newman, he was our "baby" and my husband and I were both devastated by his passing. As his passing was very sudden, we were not prepared, but one call to Resting Paws and within 20 mins they were at our door with hugs and kind words. I would like to thank Resting Paws for their professionalism and their kindness & understanding during this sad time in our life.

Karen Gray August 3, 2016 / Kanata August 4, 2016

Sabine and Patrick have a special place in my heart for the exceptional compassion and service they provided to support our family through our loss of Molly. I am eternally grateful for what Resting Paws did to celebrate the life of Molly and cherish the memories of her. The importance and reverence for Molly that our family holds was reflected in the utmost care and understanding demonstrated by Sabine and Patrick.

Veldon Coburn July 29, 2016 / Gatineau July 29, 2016

I was very pleased with the care and service provided by Resting Paws.

Gary Waddell July 29, 2016 / Ottawa July 29, 2016

Merci beaucoup pour votre professionalisme accompli avec humanité et le soucis des détails. Nous avons pu dire adieux à notre petit lapin Zig-Zag dans le respect de sa dignité. Continuez votre excellent travail. Vous faites du bien à la société. Merci!!!!

  Lydie, Pierre, Ysaline et Pierre-Alexandre

Lydie Anya Mengue July 27, 2016 / Ottawa July 29, 2016

Dear Patrick & Sabine,
We are so thankful for the rapid and thoughtful service that you provided to us following the recent death of our beloved dog Fala.  It means a lot to us to know that his remains are now buried in the beautiful Resting Paws cemetery under a tree that we have sponsored in his memory.  We are pleased to recommend your services to everyone in Ottawa who has pets.
 

Paul & Christiane July 17, 2016 / Ottawa July 18, 2016

Card received:

Thank you for your compassion during the recent burial of our beloved cat Spook. Also, thank you for providing such a beautiful cemetery for our many losses (Princess,Misty, Tiger & Spook)

Susan Moore July 10, 2016 / Kanata July 18, 2016

Thank you so much to Resting Paws for helping us through one of the most difficult days we have faced. After losing Cody in a tragic accident, Resting Paws treated us with kindness and compassion and even handled Cody with love and respect (difficult for most people to handle the remains of someone else's dead pet I would imagine). Resting Paws gave us some private time to say goodbye and hugged us and sat with us to chat during the cremation. Patrick was great at telling personal stories and asking questions to get us out of our shells and made this experience undoubtedly less negative than I would have expected, and we left feeling more calm and smiling (a feat I thought impossible). We are so grateful to Resting Paws for helping us through this time and would recommend them to anyone.

Thank you, with love from Naomi, Dan and Cody (from above).

Naomi Flint December 23, 2015 / Ottawa janvier 5, 2016

Thank you Sabine and Patrick.

Even though I knew what was coming, when my cat passed I was unprepared. You were there and provided much needed support and compassion.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Catherine Fydell December 17, 2015 / Ottawa décembre 17, 2015

Resting Paws was wonderful in caring for our cat Maximus. The drive to their Woodland cemetery & crematorium was nice, it gave us time to reflect and focus on what we were about to do. There was empathy and kindness throughout which made it easier. We had a semi private cremation and it was an easy process, at no point did we feel they were focused on money (like our Vet). There were many urns to choose from that are made and personalized in house by the owners. Also, the cemetery is beautiful if that is your choice. Patrick & Sabine are wonderful people, we couldn't thank them enough for their kindness. They have two dogs, Roxy & Diego, who were therapeutic to play with while we were waiting. I highly recommend this organization for anyone who has lost a member of their family.

Indira Thackorie December 16, 2015 / Ottawa décembre 16, 2015

Dear Patrick,

Our family wanted to thank you for your compassion and care that you showed during our time of loss. We were touched with the way you handled Max. We are very grateful to you for meeting our request to cremate Max the same day that he passed away and also for bringing his ashes to our house a few hours after cremation.

With gratitude, Texeira Family

Texeira Family November 28, 2015 / Ottawa décembre 4, 2015

I can't begin to tell you enough good things about Resting Paws. Patrick and Sabine are wonderful, compassionate and caring people. The thought of having our fur babies cremated had never crossed my mind before but since I have found them, I wouldn't think of going anywhere else. From having my son's ferret Pebbles and now the devastating loss of my own beloved wonderdoggie Bubba taken care of by Resting Paws I can know in my heart their journey over the Rainbow Bridge will be a smooth one. Any of my friends with fur babies (or any pet), when the time comes I hope you think of Resting Paws to help you through the whole process. Thank you so much for everything Patrick and Sabine

Debster Leahy November 23, 2015 / Ottawa novembre 23, 2015

On Fathers day 2015 our beloved Husky/Sheppard Freddy suddenly left us after 15 years. We were at a bit of a loss to figure out what to do next to ensure the proper and respectful send off that he deserved. As he was a member of our family I had made a promise to him when he was just a pup, that in his final days and until he returned home with us, no one would ever touch or handle him but me. How to follow up on this promise with the pet cremation business what it is?? I fell upon the Resting Paws web page and arranged to meet Patrick. He said I could be involved as much or as little as I wanted in the entire process. I read these testimonials ( and there were only a few as it's a new business) and felt Resting Paws was the right choice. BEST DECISION I could have made !! Patrick was true to his word and he allowed me to do everything ( except remove the ashes from the oven as it was an insurance thing... no problem with me ). No one ever handled Freddy but me, from beginning to the end, and he was very respectful of that. I was able to keep my promise and be with my boy for every single minute until I brought him home again. I can't possibly say enough good things about this business. The cremation process is very well done and very respectful. The semi private ( and I watched everything) is so well done , no ashes from any pet can mix with those of another. Patrick gave me a tour of the grounds, we had a great conversation, his two dogs ran and played with us and what could have been a very long stressful emotional day, turned out to be a very positive experience. Resting Paws are the people for you if your pet is more than just a pet to you. Now we have nothing but happy memories.

Thank you Patrick and Sabine!

Tim Ruddy November 11, 2015 / Rockland novembre 18, 2015

Dear Patrick and Sabine,

From my first call to Sabine I knew I had made the right choice for my beloved O'Malley. Sabine's voice was gentle and caring and I knew she cared. I honestly didn't know what to expect upon arrival to the cemetery today. We arrived to their two dogs Roxy and Diego welcoming us. Animal therapy at its best. We met Patrick and were taken to see O'Malley. He looked as handsome as ever in a blanket lined basket as if he was only taking a nap on our bed. We were left alone to say our good bye's. Never once did we feel rushed or unwelcome. We were allowed to witness the entire process from beginning to end if we were so inclined which we did. Patrick was even so kind as to let us know where to stand if we didn't want to see certain parts of the process. We also had a walk through the cemetery which is very nice and will grow in time to a wonderful spot to visit your pet if you were to chose burial. I truly can't say enough good things about Patrick and Sabine and Resting Paws. I can rest easy knowing I made the right call and didn't use my vets "service"

I don't wish the pain of losing a pet on anyone but when the time comes do both yourself and your fur baby a favor and call Resting Paws.

Chris Moor November 11, 2015 / Ottawa novembre 12, 2015

I'm finally able to post a testimonial without crying; my memories of our sweet Sheba have all become good now, and those of her last few days have faded a bit. I'd like to thank you again for your kindness as we said our good-byes to a much loved companion.

When we brought her to your office on July 27, despite the fact that we could only afford the common cremation rather than the kind of service we would have liked to have for her, you showed both us, and our departed puss, respect and compassion. In fact, my final memory of her is her resting in the basket in your receiving room with one paw sticking out - a pose she often used in life.

I'm glad I was able to get a ride to the ash spreading ceremony on August 22. Your reading of 'The Rainbow Bridge' was beautiful . . . I only cried because I knew that this was almost my final good-bye. The absolute final good-bye was when I had to throw away all the furniture covers that she'd used when she first became incontinent, and although I never thought parting with cat pee stained items would hurt, it surprisingly did.

In any case, I'm glad to know that you and Patrick are around, loving your pets as we love ours, and able to help them take those final memorial steps to comfort their humans after they've crossed the Rainbow Bridge.

Val Strawczynski October 08, 2015 / Ottawa octobre 8, 2015

On Saturday Sept 26 Kash my Afghan Hound who had been battling a lung tumor passed away suddenly and peacefully at home with me and his other 3 Afghan pals, Nina, Ellie and Honey at his side. We knew that the day would come as the location of the tumor was not condusive for surgery. Instead he was put on a Chinese Herb regime which had slowed the tumor growth down. I was not ready for this but I guess Kash did not want me to have to make the decision when the time came he made it for me. I called Resting Paws as I wanted him cremated so that part of his ashes could remain here with me and the rest with his breeder in the USA. They came right away and treated him with so much respect. I would totally use their services again. Thank you so much for taking such good care of Kash. We picked him up last night and he is now at home watching over all of us.

Johanna Granger October 01, 2015 / Carp octobre 1, 2015

Dear Patrick & Sabine
We want to thank you again for your wonderful services. You have done such a beautiful job on the marker. We know it's what Kiki would have wanted; being outdoors and surrounded by his friends and nature. Take good care and keep in touch.

 

The Torjmans September 27, 2015 / Ottawa septembre 27, 2015

Dear Patrick & Sabine,

Thank you so much for the loving and respectful treatment you gave our darling Otto. The whole experience was seamless and healing. We are truly blessed here in Ottawa to have such a high calibre pet cremation services and I really appreciated the special touches you gave – the “Time alone”, and the card and brochures included with Otto’s urn. God bless you both.

This is a transcript from a thank you card.

Julia & Alan September 21, 2015 / Ottawa septembre 27, 2015

We recently lost our dog Lily, after 15 wonderful years. We called upon Resting Paws to take care of Lily's cremation as it was important to us to have this done locally. The proprietors, Patrick and Sabine, were compassionate, professional and took care of everything themselves, from meeting us at the animal hospital to delivering her ashes to our home. We highly recommend Resting Paws.

Sharon Smith September 14, 2015 / Ottawa septembre 15, 2015

My 17 year old dachshund passed away last night and after having previous experience with this service I didn't hesitate to call them. I called at 10 pm last night and they were quick to call me back and guided me through what to do until I could bring him in in the morning. They are compassionate wonderful people and they understand the importance our pets are. I will recommend them to everyone I meet. Thanks for your support today.

Denise Sparkes July 13, 2015 / Ottawa juillet 26, 2015

We went through a pretty tough time with the loss of our beloved Lab Copper this past week and we're so thankful for the wonderful and caring service we received from our friends at Resting Paws Cemetery & Crematorium Inc. Patrick and Sabine Couture were absolutely fabulous during our tough time. Their family business being relatively new to the Ottawa area, we are so thankful for having the ability to use their facilities. Thanks so much Patrick and Sabine. From the Clays

Clay Family July 8, 2015 / Ottawa juillet 26, 2015

We have to let our member of the family named Scotty go to his next journey over the rainbow after staying with us for 4 years, but Scotty have to leave his body behind. We asked the assistance of Resting Paws as we wanted Scotty to be taken cared of. Patrick and Sabine accepted our need and they have provided us with a compassionate solution. We know that Scotty's body will be taken care until such time he is ready to be cremated. Thank you Patrick and Sabine for your wonderful assistance.

Allan Aguilar June 27, 2015 / Ottawa juillet 26, 2015

I have lost my best friend Chopin, he was a bichon/maltese. When I first held him against me he was just a five months old little bundle of fur. I could hear is hearth and I guess he could hear mine because minutes after he was in my arms he felt asleep. He felt loved, wanted and needed. Everyday of his 13 years I kept telling him when I took him in my arms for the first time how powerful the connection, the bounding was. At night, no matter what kind of day we had -- I would say maman and papa love you. On June 25th, 2015 we drove Chopin an hour after his death to meet with Sabine & Patrick of Resting Paws. The warmth from Sabine, Patrick and their two loving labrador Roxy and Diego whom made me feel that they profoundly understood my big lost.

We decided my husband and I to go to the cremation/cemetary. I must say the place is one of the most peaceful, warmth resting area for our four legs friends.

Thank you Sabine, Patrick, Roxy & Diego from Claude, Therese and CHOPIN (August 2002 - June 2015) Love you

 

J'ai perdu mon petit garcon Chopin. Il etait in bichon/maltais de 13 ans. J'ai eu le coup de foudre pour cette boule de poil tout blanc de cinq mois et je crois que pour Chopin s'etait l'amour pour sa nouvelle maman. A peine quelque minutes dans mes bras tout coller dans mon cou, il s'endourmi. Il etait voulu, aime et desire. Je lui disais tous les soirs avant de se coucher que maman et papa l'aimait beaucoup.

Malheureusement, le 25 juin 2015 Chopin nous a quitte. Nous l'avons conduit une heure apres son deces chez Sabine et Patrick, nous avons aussi fait la connaissance des deux labradors Roxy et Diego. Je dois dire que nous avons grandement apprecier la chaleur, la compassion et la sensibilite recu de Sabine, Patrick et les deux chiens accompagnateurs (Roxy et Diego) pour notre perte et immense peine.

Nous avons accompagner notre Chopin jusqu'au crematoire et nous avons eu malgre la douleur, une belle experience. L'endroit est paisible et serene. Quelle belle envolee pour un dernier voyage pour nos ami(ies) a quatre pattes.

Merci Sabine, Patrick, Roxy et Diego -- Chopin Gros bisou je t'aime

Therese Richard/ Claude Scott July 4, 2015 / Rockland, ON juillet 4, 2015

I recently lost my best friend and closest companion, my beautiful and loyal sheltie named Simba. It was a very painful day and I felt lost and alone. In an instant he was gone and I was left holding him . Prior to his passing I had searched for somewhere to take Simba, since I knew that his time here was coming to an end. The internet led me to Resting Paws . An actual pet cemetery located in a beautiful country setting with manicured grounds and tall rustling trees surrounded by tranquil peace and quiet. I immediately knew this was where Simba belonged. I had found him a final resting place in a setting I knew he would have loved. Now I know his paws are truly at rest. A place I can visit whenever I want to let him know how much I love and miss him.  In a time of trying emotions, Sabine and Patrick were very supportive and understanding , giving me the space I needed to grieve for my friend. A difficult day was transformed into a beautiful memory of my beloved Simba being properly laid to rest. For their kindness and empathy Lise and I will be forever grateful.

Thank You Sabine and Patrick, for everything....

Lorin and Lise June 25, 2015/ Kanata juin 26, 2015

This past Wednesday June 24 2015 I had to say goodbye to my bestfriend and heart, Majik ♥ . It was wonderful to hear that Resting Paws was able to help provide a place for her with them. It is not easy arranging to bury a horse. Patrick and Sabine welcomed us and Majik. They allowed me the time to have the final moments with my mare to walk the grounds and say goodbye, they allowed those that loved Majik be there as she crossed the rainbow bridge with the assistance of a dear friend and Vet. This was one of the hardest days in my life and the Kindness and Respect I received from both Patrick and Sabine during that day is something I will forever be grateful for ♥ Majik now rests overlooking the Gatineau hills where I and those that loved her can visit in the years to come.

Love and thanks

Debra

Debra Carey-Knox June 25, 2015 / Munster, Ontario juin 25, 2015

I would like to offer public acknowledgement to Resting Paws Cemetery for your wonderful and compassionate service this week. Like many horse owners without their own land, we were faced with some difficult decisions when it came time to say goodbye to our beloved Majik yesterday. You kept in touch with us throughout the decision process, and offered your support at every turn. We were able to bring Majik and our vet to your site, and we said goodbye in the most dignified and respectful way possible. Majik rests now in a beautiful location with a view over the Gatineau Hills. Thank you for your compassion, thank you for staying there for us, and thank you for accommodating an unusually large group of people. Because of you, this most difficult passage was made easier, and our final memories are of peace and love.

Jennifer Gray June 25, 2015 / Kanata juin 25, 2015

 

Dear Patrick & Sabine:

I would like to express our heartfelt thanks for your kindness  and support you both gave us. We also greatly appreciated your accommodation for theSunday service. We love the beautiful, peaceful and pastoral scene of the cemetery. Tito would love the large open space to run around!

Thank you for the dignified and respectful manner the funeral was conducted. We will recommend your services to our friends neighbours.

Thank you and best regards.

Rafeek & Kamla Khan June 18, 2015 / Nepean juin 19, 2015

I just read about an upcoming fundraiser hosted by Resting Paws this morning that reminded me that I hadn't posted my testimony yet. It is also coming up to the 1st year anniversary that I brought my beloved Rocky to Resting Paws. I can't say how much the owners of Resting Paws made the experience easier and I knew I was getting the closure and best quality of service possible. I had called around the Ottawa-Gatineau-Pembroke area about cremation services and didn't like the "communal" or not fully private cremation service. I wanted to keep the ashes but not remnants of other pets. And Pembroke was just too far away. Rocky was definitely part of the family and my loyal buddy so I wanted the best service. Sabine and Patrick are warm, loving people and are passionate about their work and I never felt like it was "all business". I was very happy and felt very comfortable sharing my tears and knowing Rocky was going to be well taken care of (and eventually home again). This was my biggest thing I was nervous about and we got to see as little or as much as we wanted of the service. I'm the type that likes to ask a lot of questions and Patrick was great to share the information. They even have a great collection of keepsakes you can purchase. I hope business is going well for Resting Paws!! So great this city has your service. And so great of you to think about our local rescue shelters as well :). All the best in your future.

Thank you again.

May Diep Apr 26, 2015 / Ottawa avril 26, 2015

Dear Patrick and Sabine,

It is now two weeks since we said our final goodbyes to our beloved Smartie. While the dreadful finality of it still takes us by surprise, one thing we keep feeling is that your kindness, respect, and warmth helped us feel a sense of closure, of rightness, of being able to say goodbye properly to our beloved companion and family member.

From the moment we first called you, raw and grieving, to our final goodbye at your peaceful facility, you treated us and Smartie with dignity, respect, and such kindness that it left us breathless. We felt that Smartie was in good hands, and was not alone, and that brought great comfort.

We have made sure that our friends at the Bells Corners Animal Hospital know what a remarkable service you provide. Like many others who have left their words upon this page, we are unable to imagine how we might have coped with this loss without having found you, and the healing that you helped us start.

Thank you, for being there and being you. The world needs more of you, more like you. We are forever grateful.

"Until one has loved an animal, a part of one's soul remains unawakened." - Anatole France.

C & M Parthasarathy Apr 09, 2015 / Ottawa avril 10, 2015

Patrick and Sabine:

Thank you very much for looking after Poppy when she passed away unexpectedly a couple weeks ago. Your compassion and professionalism were greatly appreciated. Her urn is lovely. Thanks very much.

The Dacomb's Mar 25, 2015 / Ottawa mars 27, 2015

I lost my degu Jasper, and resting paws handled all the services, including pick up, cremation and customizing his urn. From the very first phone call through to picking up Jasper's urn and remains, I was truly pleased with the service.

Sabine & Patrick are respectful, and clearly have a special bond with animals. I felt they would take good care of Jasper, and they did. Everything was timely and tastefully done - right down to the customized engraving on Jasper's urn.

it's so important to have good people handle tough situations, and Patrick and Sabine came through for me & Jasper.

I cannot recommend their services enough.

Patricia MacDonald Mar 21, 2015 / Ottawa mars 22, 2015

Dear Patrick and Sabine, The trauma of a sudden medical emergency followed by the decision for euthanasia for an elderly dog that you love is a devastating ordeal. To then have to think about "funeral" arrangements becomes overwhelming in the moment. Thank you Sabine and Patrick for being available to discuss my beloved Katie Scarlett's final journey and allowing me the privilege of participating fully in this journey. At 14 years 9 months Katie Scarlett certainly had a wonderful life and was very much loved by all in her family. Your caring and compassionate manner helped me navigate thru all the options. I didn't think that I could be present for her cremation but in the end Patrick (and Diego's) calming manner and obvious love of animals and people provided comfort and closure to those painful few days. What a blessing you both are for providing such a professional service in a difficult time of need. I only hope that when my time comes, my family will have the benefit of such a caring peop le and establishment to deal with. Now comes the really hard part - moving on to life without Katie Scarlett but focusing on the joy and love that she brought to my world and that of my family.

"If I'd've known the way that this would end, If I'd've read the last page first, If I'd've had the strength to walk away, If I'd've known how this would hurt, I would have loved you anyway,

I'd do it all the same, Not a second I would change, Not a touch that I would trade, Had I known my heart would break, I'd've loved you anyway."

Shelley O'Dell Mar 03, 2015 / Kanata mars 3, 2015

Sabine and Patrick,

I can't thank you enough, for everything.

My beloved Bosco (a sweet Boston Terrier) passed away on the cold night of Nov.17th, 2014, in my arms, at the Veterinarian Clinic in Hull.

I was heart-broken and was definitely not able to leave him behind at the veterinarian office as my last good-bye. I cannot express, how helpful it was to be able to wrap him up in a warm blanket and personally drive him directly to your place that night. Where you both were so compassionate and able to make me feel at peace leaving him in your care over night. I really appreciated being able to attend the crematorium days later and say a proper and final good-bye to Bosco. Being able to watch everything was something I did not expect I would ever be allowed to do, thank you for that. The fact that Bosco was not alone, and that I was present right until the very end is something that has helped me with my grieving tremendously.

It has been 3 months since I required your service, and in that time, every chance I get to glance at Bosco's photo & earn, I think of you both and what a great help you were.

I've talked very highly of your facility and services. And will continue to do so. I have already referred your services to one person who was troubled with the horrible fate of having to euthanize their dog last week. As it did for me, it was comforting to them to know they were going to be able to have the same positive experience.

Thank You Mike Pare

Micheal Pare Feb 27, 2015 / Hull P.Q. février 27, 2015

Patrick, just wanted to thank you again for an outstanding professional job you did with PJ, Lucky and Sasha. We really thought it was going to be a dreary and sad day, but it wasn't. Of course your beautiful assistant helped 🙂 (ROXY). I wrote a review on your fb page and recommended you to my Ottawa friends. Thank you again for your compassion towards animals.

The Frid's Feb 19, 2015 / Plantagenet février 19, 2015

Sabine and Patrick,

Thank you both for such a clean finish.  I really appreciated being able to watch everything.  The handmade card and the printouts in our “gift” bag are much appreciated.

I hope you are there when we need your services the next time.

Sandy

Sandy Feb 6, 2015 / Stittsville février 6, 2015

I have utilized your services before and was very impressed with your facility and personal service, you made the process much easier than it could have been in such a difficult circumstance.

T. Dennee Jan 15, 2015 / Dunrobin janvier 15, 2015

We wanted to thank Resting Paws very much for their Compassion and Understanding after the loss of our Beautiful girl, Blossom, who passed away in Mommy's arms December 23, 2014. Our Blossom was 22 years, 7 months and 9 days old (106 in cat years) and it was extremely difficult for our family to see her go. We Loved her Dearly as she Loved us all those years and we miss her sooooo much. Resting Paws also gave us great comfort in knowing our precious Blossom would be taken care of with gentleness and respect. We had Blossom cremated and her urn is now beside her big sister, Fluffy, surrounded by their pictures in our home. Many thanks again for making her passing a little easier , we will Love them Always!!!!!!!

Lynn Shane Dec 30, 2014 / Nepean, ON décembre 30, 2014

Hi Patrick,

We picked up the plaque today and I was so impressed that I gave it to my fiance right away instead of waiting for Christmas. Stephan absolutely loved the plaque and thought it was so neat that George's photo was on the plaque. Everything was clear, easy to read, and exactly as I wanted.
Thank you so much for the work you put into the plaque.
Happy Holidays Patrick!

A. Cross Dec 12, 2014 / Chelsea, P.Q. décembre 12, 2014

Patrick & Sabine,

We just wanted to thank you for everything you did for us when we brought our corgi, Maddie, to you on Nov. 19.  We appreciated your caring and allowing us to see as much or little as we wanted of the cremation process.  Maddie was a very special soul and you helped us to provide the best care possible for her.

Thank you,

Dana & Allen Nov 19, 2014 / Lansdowne, ON novembre 19, 2014

Hi Patrick!
I absolutely love the urn. Thank you so much for everything. This is exactly what I was hoping for. Now Snowball and Zinger can be together at the Rainbow Bridge and here at home. I know you probably hear this a lot, but this really means a lot to me.
Thank you thank you thank you.

Stasia Nov 13, 2014 / Barrhaven, ON novembre 13, 2014

Hi Patrick,

We want to thank you for your incredible compassion and genuine personal concern. You really helped Helene when we came to see you last week. You are an amazing and good person. We appreciate you helping us with dealing with Bear and are so lucky and blessed to have met you.

thank you again for your incredible humility and goodness,

Ron & Helene Nov 12, 2014 / Ottawa novembre 12, 2014

Hi Patrick

Thank you so much for everything. I know you must hear it often but we truly mean it. It's such unfortunate circumstances but you made us feel comfortable about the whole situation.

Cheers,

Sarah & Ryan Nov 8, 2014 / Ottawa, ON novembre 8, 2014

Sabine and Patrick,
We appreciate your personal and most professional service.. And have passed that on to the Manotick Vet clinic.
She is certainly in a good  spot and we take comfort in that.

Sincerely

 

Whit & Mary Nov 6, 2014 / Manotick, ON novembre 6, 2014

Thank-you both so much for helping me plan Max's funeral arrangements in advance.  Just knowing it's done is a geat weigh off my mind 🙂  Really enjoyed meeting your pack and chatting with you.  Will be in touch when the time comes.  I might pop in to choose an urn for myself - love the look of them.

E. Roberts Oct 16, 2014 / Ottawa, ON octobre 16, 2014

Hi Patrick Thank you for your kind efforts to accommodate my needs last week.  The days are rough with the strong presence of Eddie everywhere in this house.  It is really difficult not being able to bury my face in his fur and soaking up the love.  It's hard but we are just coping.

K. Maclennan Aug 28, 2014 / Ottawa, ON août 28, 2014

Nathalie and I want to thank you both so very much from the bottom of our hearts for having accommodated us yesterday evening with our beloved Claudia’s cremation. She was very, very special for us and your very kind gesture was truly appreciated by us. In fact, it helped us getting starting in the grieving process as we were able to bring her back with us the same day that she passed away. And your urn for her was absolutely beautiful!

Our heartfelt thanks to both of you. You are very kind people, and we will encourage everyone we know to seek out your excellent services.

Allen Cramm and Nathalie Clement Aug 08, 2014 / Ottawa, ON août 8, 2014

Card received.

May all your good come back to you. Thank you for being so good to me.

" Dear  Sabine & Patrick,

Thank you for your patience, understanding and compassion during the loss of my precious Cat, Princess.

Sincerely"

S. Moore Aug 05, 2014 / Ottawa, ON août 5, 2014

In such a hard time in our lives resting paws made it so much easier. The customer service they provide can not be found anywhere else. They were amazing. They made us and our Roxy feel so special. Located in such a Beautiful area you feel like a friend not another number. We could not express how appreciative we were. We would recommend resting paws to anyone and everyone. Thanks again for everything

May you your family and your Roxy be forever blessed with kindness and love Brad Steph Jaks and the late Roxy

Stephanie Rose Jun 4, 2014 / Arnprior, ON juin 4, 2014

Dear Patrick & Sabine,

Thank you so much for the tremendous kindness & compassion you showed us throughout the process of arranging & having Chewy cremated.

We had Chewy in our lives for 14 years & there is no question in our minds that he was a big part of our family. We were absolutely devastated by his loss and had no idea how to proceed with the after death process. We knew we didn't want him shipped off to another city only to receive ashes (no guarantee they would be his) weeks later. You allowed us to spend as much time as we needed to be alone with Chewy before he was cremated. You allowed us to participate 100% in the process & for us it was what we wanted & needed in order to move on from the devastation we felt from his passing.

We love the story of the 'Rainbow Bridge' you shared with us & love to think of Chewy there waiting for us. I imagine it to look very similar to your 'Resting Paws' cemetery & even more so as you complete the different stages you have planned for the future!

We will be making sure that our Manotick Veterinary clinic is made aware of the outstanding services that you offer! We shudder at the thought of having not found you on the internet because we know we would never, ever have been able to come to terms with any other after death process that is currently being offered by veterinary clinics at this time.

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

Jeff & Josanne Switzer May 28, 2014 / Manotick, ON mai 28, 2014

I AM SO GLAD I found your service and promoting it on facebook and friends,,it made me feel not so heavy seeing Lady posed so peaceful...thank-you and GOD BLESS...YOU GAVE ME SUCH  RELIEF

A DOG'S POEM OF COMFORT

There are many things that could have took lady away I must believe that it was Gods will that she not stay For she was sick this much was true And God said enough pain she has gone through I shall bring her home to wait for you As dogs are faithful through and through She is in a better place now and shall run free Without any pain as she is with ME... .

wrote by me Deborah Lahey for my girl March 11,2014

 

D. Lahey Mar 11, 2014 / Ottawa, ON mai 11, 2014

Card received.

Thank You. Your Kindness is warmly appreciated.

" Patrick & Sabine,

Thank you for your support & kind words on the loss of our little best friend Patches. "

Signed Ray & Shirley White

Ray and Shirley White Feb 20, 2014 / Lower Sackville, NS février 20, 2014

After our 15 year old dog, Rosco, died, we didn't want to take him to the vet to just be disposed of. He had been such a good companion to our family - we used to say "he was such a gentleman". When we found out he could be cremated at Resting Paws, it gave us such comfort. Now, we have the opportunity to have his ashes sitting beside a couple of fond pictures of him. We intend to take his ashes with us if and when we move from our present home. We know, of course, that Rosco is now in Heaven.

We just want to say that our experience with the gentleman owner of Resting Paws was a wonderful man, very compassionate and understanding. This in itself was such a comfort to us. God Bless You.

Ed & Debbie Bessette Feb 10, 2014 / Ottawa, ON février 10, 2014

I wanted to thank every one that reached out to our family at such a sad time in our lives. I know their are bigger things going on in the world...but, like my friend Niels Luettge said "Dogs are people too" and to our family Ziggy was our little one...Andree thank you for taking the time to find me Resting Paws Cemetery & Crematorium---

"Where memories matter" www.restingpawsottawa.com. Thank you Patrick for taking such great care of all of us.

I really wanted to share this because I know there are a lot of pet owners that would really appreciate the information. I did not know where to go and I wanted something private...I highly recommend Resting Paws. Thank you for your kindness and compassion.

Lee-Ann Lacroix Jan 21, 2014 / Ottawa, ON janvier 21, 2014

We were so pleased with the service you have performed for us. That coupled with the respect you displayed towards our long time pet was so nice at a sad time for us. Thank you Patrick and Sabine.

M. Brawley Jan 8, 2014 / Carlsbad Springs, ON janvier 8, 2014

 

This post is also available in: French